Ethics Committee for Animal Experimentation


The Ethics Committee for Animal Experimentation (ECAE) is a body jointly operated by the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences (SAMS) and the Swiss Academy of Sciences (SCNAT).
The ECAE serves as an expert and advisory body in the area of animal experimentation, with members drawn from various disciplines – basic research, veterinary medicine, animal welfare, law and ethics. The responsibilities of the ECAE include the preparation of opinions on fundamental issues in animal experimentation and the examination of legal regulations.


- Prof. Rolf Zeller, developmental biologist, University od Basel, President of the Board of the Basel Declaration (chair)
- Dr. Beatrice Roth, Animal Protection of Zurich, Zurich (vice chair)

- lic. theol., Dipl.-Biol. Sibylle Ackermann Birbaum, SAMW, Bern (ex officio)
- Dr. Christoph Ammann, Deputy Director of the Institute for Social Ethics, University of Zurich
- PD Dr. Alessandra Bergadano, Head of Comparative Medicine Roche, Basel
- Dr. Katharina Friedli, Research Station ART, Ettenhausen
- PD Dr. Birgit Ledermann, Corporate Animal Welfare Officer, Novartis (Corporate Animal
Welfare Officer), Basel
- Prof. Christian Lüscher, Departement of Basic Neurosciences, University of Geneva
- Prof. Gregor Rainer, Visual Cognition Laboratory, Universität Fribourg
- Dr. Hans Sigg, former Animal Welfare Officer UZH/ETHZ, Zürich
- Prof. Susanne Ulbrich, Institute of Agriculture Sciences, ETH Zürich
- Prof. Brigitte von Rechenberg, Head of the Center for Applied Biotechnology and Molecular Medicine, VetSuisse Faculty, University of Zurich
- Prof. Hanno Würbel, Division of Animal Welfare, VetSuisse-Fakultät Bern


Members of the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences

Centres of Excellence

Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences
House of Academies
Laupenstrasse 7
P.O. Box
3001 Bern

Phone +41 (0)31 306 92 20